What happens once I’m convicted of DUI in Florida?
Winter Haven DUI Lawyers can help reduce or remove penalties
If you are convicted of driving under the influence in Florida, the consequences can include loss of your driver’s license up to 18 months, fines up to $4,000, community service and imprisonment. Often, a DUI penalty can depend on the level of intoxication (BAC) or whether someone was injured in a related accident. If you’re concerned about the consequences of a DUI or DWI conviction, contact Winter Haven DUI attorney Diane Buerger for help.
How does a prior arrest for DUI impact the penalty?
The penalties above are for a first DUI conviction in Florida. If you have had a prior arrest for DUI or DWI the penalties are much more severe. Some of the added requirements may include educational courses, use of an ignition interlock device, and monitoring programs.
Is your license suspended immediately after a DUI in Florida?
In Florida, you have 10 days from the date of arrest to request a hardship license so you can commute to a job. If this is not requested and granted, you can face a suspended license for 6-18 months.
Winter Haven DUI Lawyers help protect rights
If you have been arrested for DUI or DWI in Florida, our Winter Haven DUI lawyers can help you to reduce fines, avoid jail time or determine if you were wrongfully accused. If you need to get back on the road for employment, attorney Diane Buerger can facilitate a request for a hardship license which must be completed right away.